Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

Here’s one of my favorite Christmas songs, “Silent Night,” performed by the violet burning.*

But I think my favorite Christmas song is “The Little Drummer Boy.” Lots of great versions have been produced through the years, including the brilliant Bing Crosby / David Bowie duet, The Cranberries (I could listen to that one forever), Jars of Clay with some cool percussion, Bob Dylan being Bob Dylan, the all-out rock of Whiteheart, Faith Hill on Letterman, and of course Bob Seger’s tremendous rendition.

However, my favorite “Drummer Boy” is, and probably will always be, Johnny Cash’s take.

Here are the others I mentioned, so you can decide for yourself…

The video of Faith Hill on Letterman can’t be embedded: http://youtu.be/eVtNwLIjKJ4

*The original version of this post had a typo in the band’s name, spelling “violet” as “violent.” I chalk it up as a side effect of writing crime fiction.

Leave a Reply

