Looking Back at 2012

When 2012 started, I had one piece of published fiction: “The Murder of Ernest Trapnell,” in the Fall 1998 issue of the now-defunct Mary Higgins Clark Mystery Magazine.

In 2012, I took two classes at LitReactor.com (thank you David Corbett and Johnny Shaw for being great teachers) and had eight stories published in various outlets: four by Shotgun Honey and one each by NEEDLE: A Magazine of Noir, Off the Record 2: At the Movies, The Flash Fiction Offensive at Out of the Gutter Online, and Near to the Knuckle. To all of the editors and publishers who saw enough in my stories to choose them, I can’t thank you enough. (The About Me page of this blog has a bit more on my stories.)

More importantly, I made a bunch of new friends in the crime fiction community (online and off). You’re an incredibly talented group of people. I even got to thank Mary Higgins Clark herself for publishing that first story 14 years ago. She also offered me some advice, which she summed up in one word: “Royalties.” I can only hope to reach the point where that means something to me…

Best of all, I got to work with my wife Beth a lot. She happens to be the world’s greatest editor, and she’s remarkable in every way.

Here’s to a great 2013!

Leave a Reply

