700 Words or Less

Shotgun Honey LogoI’ll always have a soft spot in my heart for Shotgun Honey. One year ago today, they published my story “12 Before 9” — the first fiction piece I wrote since 1998. They went on to publish “Fortune” (which has since been picked up by Otto Penzler for inclusion in his upcoming Kwik Krimes anthology), “Twitter and Coke” and “Blow Out the Candles.”

So I’ll be forever grateful to SH’s head honcho Ron Earl Phillips and the editors who approved my stories (even if they did also reject a few).

Now, I’m honored to be returning the favor. Ron contacted me a few weeks back and asked, “Have you ever considered the fast-paced world of submission editing?” No, I said, I hadn’t. But less than 48 hours later, I was signed up. (The contract negotiations were intense. Eventually, I convinced Ron to pay me in “future considerations,” which is a term I learned from reading reports about NFL trades, so it must be a lot of money!)

Now, I’m working with Ron and the amazingly talented Jen Conley & Chris Irvin to review all of Shotgun Honey’s submissions. So write something and submit it. 700 words or less.

Leave a Reply

