“Noose of Trust” in GRIFT

Grift Issue #2Issue #2 of GRIFT Magazine is out. (You can order it from Lulu.com.) I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy, and not only because it includes my story “Noose of Trust.”

GRIFT #2 also features fiction by Jon McGoran (whose novel DRIFT was just released this month: read my interview, Four Questions With… Jon McGoran), Chad Rohrbacher, Jack Bates, Matthew Brozik, Davin Ireland, David James Keaton, Helen Maryles Shankman, Holly Day, Salvatore Falco, Andy Henion, and Martin Zeigler.

Also featured are a pair of intriguing interviews with authors Stuart Neville and Les Edgerton, along with a look at the film noir woodcuts of Loren Kantor.

My contribution to GRIFT #2, “Noose of Trust,” is set in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, home of the state Capitol. However, it has nothing to do with politics.

I’ve struggled (and failed) to come up with a way to describe the technology that inspired the plot of “Noose of Trust” without giving too much away, so instead I offer this aerial view of Wildwood Park in Harrisburg, courtesy of Google Maps (click on the image to enlarge it):

Wildwood Park in Harrisburg, PA

The area inside the red circle is the location that inspired the setting of the climactic scene in “Noose of Trust.”

I hope you enjoy the story!

Like many of my previous stories, “Noose of Trust” shares its title with a song by one of my favorite bands, The Throes:

Leave a Reply

